top of page

A Club Rich In Tradition! 


The York Region Shooters are a Canadian soccer team that played in the Canadian Soccer League. Based in the City of Vaughan, Ontario, the team played their home games at the St. Joan of Arc Turf Field. The blue and white team colors mirror those of the Italy national football team, reflecting the club's cultural heritage. The team has gone through several name changes over the years, including the Vaughan Sun Devils, Vaughan Shooters, Italia Shooters, and finally York Region Shooters.

The team was formed in 2003 through a merger of two rival clubs in York Region: the Glen Shields Sun Devils and the original York Region Shooters. Both clubs were founding members of the Canadian Professional Soccer League, having joined in 1998. The merger resulted in a successful team, winning various titles including going undefeated in a season and winning the CSL Championship three times in 2006, 2014 and 2017.



The Early Years:


 In 2003, the team merged with the York Region Shooters and united the York Region territory under the ownership of Tony De Thomasis. The merger brought in new players such as Elvis Thomas, Matthew Palleschi, Cameron Medwin, and Jason De Thomasis, and led to the team's success on the field. The newly formed club recorded an eight-game undefeated streak and secured a playoff spot in their conference. They defeated Toronto Supra in the first round and then went on to beat the Hamilton Thunder in the second round, marking their first appearance in the CPSL Championship. Although they ultimately lost in the final to the Brampton Hitmen, the merger set the stage for the club to become a dominant force in the CPSL.In 2004, the club underwent several changes, including a name change to the Vaughan Shooters and a new home venue at the Ontario Soccer Centre. Head coach Benning stepped down to accept a position with the CSA, and was replaced by Sam Mederios. Vaughan also established affiliations with two youth clubs, Woodbridge Italia and Vaughan Soccer Club. The Shooters had another successful season, securing a playoff spot for the second consecutive year and advancing to the championship final, where they lost to Toronto Croatia.In 2005, under the leadership of head coach Carmine Isacco, Vaughan continued to solidify their status as a powerhouse. They brought in international players Darryl Gomez, Stuart Black, and Brian Bowes, and went on to claim their first Eastern Conference title. With the best offensive and defensive record in the league, they earned a bye to the semifinals, where they defeated Toronto Croatia. Despite a loss in the championship final to the Oakville Blue Devils, the season was a huge success for Vaughan. At the end of the year, Desmond Humphrey was honored as the CPSL MVP and Tony De Thomasis was recognized with the CPSL President award.


2006 CSL Champions.

2014 CSL Champions.


2017 CSL Champions.

bottom of page